Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 13 total)
  • Author

Hello, I am no programmer but I would think this shouldn’t be too difficult.

Most repeaters do NOT ID at every X minutes but rather ID 10 minutes after the start of a conversation and every 10 Minutes during until the last transmission ends.
    This is per FCC Part 97 rules.

I find that having the repeater ID every 10 minutes regardless of activity is a waste of electricity and needlessly transmitting.

Just my 2 cents worth I do like the fact of the short and long ID, it would just be nice and legal to have it ID during activity every 10 minutes. (User selectable of course)

Thanks in advance if this can happen in a newer release version.

Dan, KG7PAR
    Forum Administrator

https://github.com/OpenRepeater/openrepeater/issues/58

This is a known issue that will be addressed in an upcoming version

Aaron, N3MBH
    Forum Administrator

It is achievable in the current development build (2.2.0) but that is not available publicly as a downloadable image. You’d have to do a custom build from script to get it up and running. This code will likely not be publicly released, but rather absorbed into version 3.0 when the new UI design is completed. If you are adventurous and good with linux then you can use the script to do a 2.2.0 build.

Aaron – N3MBH / WRFV871

OpenRepeater is offered free of charge. Find out how you can support us.

hayden
    User

Im wanting this feature so will try this if its not released by the time I need it. Im a programmer so can help.

Aaron, N3MBH
    Forum Administrator

Hello Hayden,
    As mentioned it is implement in the development branch of 2.2.x. That code base is currently being absorbed into the 3.0 redesign. So it will definitely be within 3.0 release when that is ready. It’s just slow going. If you want to help on the development side, you should join our slack group. Let me know if you need an invitation.

Aaron – N3MBH / WRFV871